The State of Black America: All Talk or Action Too?

 

by Dr. Boyce Watkins, Syracuse University – The Huffington Post 

Today I mentioned to a friend that I was looking forward to analyzing the report on the State of Black America issued by the Urban League every year. The person responded to my comment with an interesting question. He said, "Do these gatherings actually lead to action or is it a matter of people just getting together to produce cute little sound bites?"

I thought about the person’s question and wanted to give an answer that made sense. But when my mind referenced prior gatherings similar to the State of Black America, I realized that there are times when black leadership seems to be re-living scenes from the movie Ground Hog Day. In the film, Bill Murray’s character keeps living the same day over and over again, making no progress in his life. Like Bill Murray’s character, Black America remains a bit stagnant, primarily because of our stubborn insistence upon using the same methods to solve the same problems, only to get the same old results.

Click to read.

2 Comments

Filed under African Americans

2 responses to “The State of Black America: All Talk or Action Too?

  1. There are numerous issues concerning the ‘African-American’ “Black” community that have been overlooked or misunderstood. There are methods that should have been attempted to reach the collective members of the “Black” community in the U.S. ‘America’.
    There should have been an attempt by the so-called ‘black leadership’ to count and collect the names and all pertinent information concerning our oppressed peoples in this country.
    We need to know how many are here and what their sociopolitical and personal ideals are. We need to know who is on the right track and who is off the charts and on tracks conflicting with the overall good of our peoples as a unified entity. How can we do for ourselves if we have no knowledge of how many are together on important subjects and how many are in peril?

    Our “leaders” solicit millions, maybe billions of dollars for the education of our youth in a social structure that is built by racists and intent on tearing them down and denigrating their (our) image. It would be highly beneficial to us all if monies were collected to use to find out who we are, what we think, how we are faring, and how our lives can be made stronger, healthier, safer, and more cohesive through mass drives toward unity. That is what the money should first be used for. If that could be accomplished it would be easier to focus our collective wealth and minds in all other categories.

    Here is the problem with all of my suggestions. We are in a cold war with our “benefactors” if you will. The same benefactors who are ravishing Africa and its people, and have been for centuries will not allow us to unite in any way to create a powerful block. It is why they are so intent on destroying Haiti and other nations like it. It is why African peoples are psychologically and pseudo militarily guided to turn on each other here, and abroad. These things are done with grave intention and forethought.

    Do not be fooled. Our ability to unify ourselves will be met with violence, infiltration, deceit and destruction at every turn. It is in their best interests to keep us as fractured as we are. It is one of their methods in ‘The Art Of War’ to divide their opponents and to keep it that way.

    You can monitor my observations by simply paying close attention to what has occurred in the past when our viable leaders have tried to unite us here and when the good leaders of other African nations have tried to lead their people away from the broad reaching and overburdening neo-colonialism of the Anglo-Elite. They (The Anglo-Elite) have been at this for so long that they are near experts at what they do. They do know how many of us there are in any given part of the world, and they know what it takes to not only keep us divided, but when need be, turn us on each other in the most vile and destructive ways.

    So if you think that attending a meeting with a few well known “leaders” will affect the overall condition of “our peoples” you had better take another think! Think deeply and think with brilliant clarity and alertness!

    The moves made to unify our peoples must be done discreetly or with great cunning. It must be done so as to confuse the opposition into thinking they are still achieving their objective. It must be comparable to what they are capable of as in deceptive redirection.

  2. B.J.

    Mr. Wizard G.,
    I don’t know what planet you just arrived from, but I suppose it is not Planet Earth!! “I am considered an African-American, or Black,or Negro,whatever! But, I do know I am an “‘American Beauty of Colour!” I do not need to be defined by what a certain Black group, or faction determines me to be or do! Another group-meeting, of so called “Afro-AMER Leaders” Instructing me to do a blame game, as to why I am in a certain predicament, and who, or what I need to blame, is the same excuse used by a lot of “US”, who don’t want to take responsibility for one’s own life and situation.
    If, I want to flip TV channels, wait for my “WELFARE” check to come, listen to “Rap” all day, trying to do anything but get up off of my sorry behind, get a GED, or some training to obtain marketable skills, dress decent, learn how to converse without cursing every second word, and, get off your butts, stop getting and having babies out of wed-lock, that someone else has to suppoirt, either
    in the ‘Welfare System’, or the ‘Criminal Justice System’!
    I have a Bachelor’ Degree in Criminal Justice. I have tried to encourage the clients who were in the system that I was priviledge to have their ‘cases’, that they were worth more than what they were doing with their lives!
    Doing time! performing ‘slave labor’! “A pitiful shame”!!
    “But, let’s be honest! STOP BLAMING OTHER PEOPLE FOR some of, OUR LAZINESS, IGNORANT ATTITUDES, BAD
    ARROGANT BEHAVIOR, KILLING EACH OTHER, DRUGS, and OUT OF CONTROL SEXUAL EXHIBITIONS!
    With these patterns and actions, we have put the ‘Ku Klux Klan’, and other ‘racist hate groups’ out of business!!! Simply Because, we are doing their previous line of ‘lynching’; since we are exterminating (KILLING)ourselves daily for them!!!
    I am not WHITE!!! As stated above!! I am a ‘Mature Senior
    Beautiful’Black Woman’! Now a recent Widow.
    I have Three adult children! Four adult Grand-Sons! (Who, are acting like some of the above)! Also, Ten Great-Grand Children! And, I had Seven Brothers! Some of them had the same above deameanor, as does some of my other relatives! But I don’t placate! I do set them straight, Period !!! “So, I’m not talking about something I’ve heard; this, is something I have seen in my family!” I know what I’m talking about!!! “And, there but for God’s Grace, and, my MOTHER’s handi-work with the ironing cord on my behind, her prayers, taking us to church , and working hard in ‘white folk’s’ houses, to keep us off ‘Welfare”, because, my Dad had problems being a ‘Dad’, and being responsible. “I loved my Dad dearly!”
    (We ended up being a single parent family!)” I would probably have ended up being one of those ‘blame games’ too!”
    I went back to school later in life! Got a GED! Finished Junior College, with an Associate’s Degree , Psychology Major. Bachelor’s Degree, Majored in Criminal Justice/Minor, Sociology. I was Fifty-three years of age when I finished school! My children were adults!! My husband was a totally disabeld veteran! I took ‘excellent’ care of him in our home for Thirty-Eight years , until he passed away in 2007. All of the above accomplishments, were completed on a part time basis, while I cared for my husband. We were together, Forty-Eight wonderful years!
    I mention this information because, I was a teen Mom! A high school drop-out! But! I didn’t forget my dream! And, I didn’t cop a plea, about someone keeping me out of the loop! “If, I can do it, you who are reading this, can do it too!!”
    “Let us get it together! Stop hating on, and killing each other!”
    Being more responsible, getting an education, relinquishing the need to blame others for our situation, because we are too lazy to want to change our attitudes and destructive behavior! Begin, by taking care of our individual personal needs and our families!
    ” FOR A CHANGE, TRY TO BE MORE RESPONSIBLE FOR YOUR OWN ACTIONS”!
    Put God first! And cut the crap out and be somebody! You, don’t need a crowd to do what you know is right!!
    PRAY! PLAN! and, PREPARE! I PRAY FOR GOD TO BLESS EVERYONE WHO READS THIS REPLY !!!”I’M NOT TRYING TO BE MEAN, JUST BEING HONEST ABOUT WHAT”S GOING ON IN OUR NEIGHBORHOODS! BECAUSE, I LOVE MY AFRICAN-AMERICAN PEOPLE! PERIOD!!!”
    THANKS FOR READING!! MRS B.

Leave a Reply

