Dr. Phil Interviews Kelley Williams-Bolar: Why I Just Don’t Like It

by Dr. Boyce Watkins, Syracuse UniversityScholarship in Action 

Many of you might remember the case of Kelley Williams-Bolar, the single black mother of two who was jailed for sending her children to a school that was outside their home district. Well, Dr. Phil McGraw has decided to do a show on Kelley’s situation, set to air in the coming week.

Shortly after AOL Black Voices brought Kelley’s case to the nation, I found that there were quite a few citizens around the country who were concerned about her situation. Millions of people around the world rallied to Kelley’s defense, and ColorofChange.org and Change.org did a wonderful job of gathering hundreds of thousands of signatures on petitions that were eventually delivered to the governor of Ohio.

Click to read.

3 Comments

Filed under African Americans

3 responses to “Dr. Phil Interviews Kelley Williams-Bolar: Why I Just Don’t Like It

  1. Deborah

    Ms Kelly Williams-Balor, I want you to know That we still have the support group on fb in support of your pardon of all charges.
    We are 336 strong. We are sending out the group letter to all Congress persons in Ohio (17) and In Washington, DC, TV/Radio Stations all around. I have sent the letter to the First Lady Obama, Sent letter to BrownBoardofEducation50AnniversaryCommission, and so many places. We want you to know we are still standing for and with you. We also want you to know we are praying for strength you and your family.

    Deborah Price

  2. Jessica

    A similiar situation happened to me, I would like to share my story. Please contact me.

  3. students4revolution

    Its been two years and I just seen this site. I want to say thank you for your support. I went into a depression. I avoided any social network and became a hermit. I have started writing about education and how important it is to me and many other parents across this nation we call home. If you ever feel interested stop by my wordpress and read what is going on. God bless and thank you. students4revolution.wordpress.com/2013/10/06/inner-city-tears/‎
    and http://students4revolution.wordpress.com/2013/10/06/the-kelley-williams-bolar-story-we-all-have-a-story/ @ Jessica if you could please email me I would love to talk with you and discuss your situation.

Leave a Reply

